Parking, Placards, Plates, and Waivers
Defining a Disability Plate, Placard or Disability Veteran Plate
Disability Plates are issued to qualified Massachusetts residents who are primary owners of a registered passenger vehicle or a motorcycle. A holder of a passenger vehicle Disability Plate may be entitled to a Temporary Disabled Placard. A person must demonstrate "good cause" or need for the placard in writing to the Medical Affairs Branch. "Good cause" is interpreted as a valid reason why the plate cannot be used and duration of the need.
Disability Placards are issued to qualified Massachusetts residents on a temporary or permanent basis. A person may be issued only one valid placard at a time.
Disability Veteran Plates are issued only to qualified Massachusetts resident veterans who meet the same qualifications as those applying for a disability plate. This claim must be supported by a statement of disability from the Veteran's Administration. These plates are issued only to persons who have a passenger vehicle registered in their name. More information can be found by following this link to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles.
Milford Handicapped Parking Fines
Effective November 19, 2001, violators parking illegally in a handicapped parking spot in Milford will be fined $125. Three points regarding Massachusetts Laws:
What can we do about Placard/Plate abuse? The law concerning placard fraud and abuse was amended in 2001. The amended law increased the fines for placard abuse and abuse of the disabled parking space. The provision increases the fine for wrongful use of the HP plate or placard from $100 to $500 for the first offense with a mandatory thirty (30) day loss of driver's license. The fine for each subsequent offense is $1,000. A citation for $500 can be written under Chapter 90 section 2: Handicap Parking Abuse. A responsible finding for the citation will automatically suspend the violator's license for 30 days.
A parking ticket may also be issued for violation of the HP parking space. Unauthorized parking in a handicap spot was been increased from a range of $25 to $100 to a range of $100 to $300 set by the local jurisdiction. The vehicle may also be towed. The law also makes it illegal to park in certain areas which are intended spaces for wheelchair lifts and ramps.
What is considered Placard/Plate abuse? Anyone using a placard in an HP space that was issued to another person is placard abuse. Any tampering or altering a placard is placard abuse. Using a photocopy of a placard is placard abuse. Anyone using an HP plate in a HP space without the HP plate holder either entering or exiting the vehicle is plate abuse.
What about the person parking in the HP space without the placard or HP plate? A parking ticket may be issued. Unauthorized parking in a handicap spot was been increased from a range of $25 to$100 to a range of $100 to $300. The vehicle may be towed. The law also makes it illegal to park in certain areas which are intended spaces for wheelchair lifts and ramps.